## STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT

C3-95-1969

## IN RE APPOINTMENTS TO THE LEGAL SERVICES FUNDING COMMITTEE

ORDER

WHEREAS, the Minnesota Planning Agency has identified a multi-million dollar funding gap between spending and revenue in future biennia through June, 2005;

WHEREAS, the federal government is likely to shift funding responsibility for many federally funded programs to the state and to cut significantly funding for many programs;

WHEREAS, the state should be prepared with an action plan for addressing service delivery in critically affected areas;

WHEREAS, the legislature has requested the court to convene a joint committee to address the means of meeting the critical civil legal needs of low income persons in this environment;

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the following individuals are hereby appointed to the Joint Legal Services Access and Funding Committee:

Diane Ahrens Gloria Bostic Representative Sherry Broecker Patrick R. Burns Leah Carpenter Honorable Bruce Christopherson Senator Richard Cohen Joseph T. Dixon, Jr. Glen Dorfman Jeff Eng Daniel A. Gislason Catherine F. Haukedahl John M. Jackson Jarvis C. Jones Charles A. Krekelberg David G. Kuduk Bricker L. Lavik Representative Darlene Luther William M. Mahlum Genevieve Morales Senator David L. Knutson Barbara F. L. Penn john powell Steven L. Reyelts Honorable James M. Rosenbaum Mary Schneider Jan Smaby Roger V. Stageberg Honorable John Stanoch The Committee shall examine the alternatives for addressing the critical civil legal needs of low income people including systemic changes in the legal and judicial systems and the legal services delivery system to facilitate access. The Committee shall identify costs and funding options for these alternatives and make recommendations to the Supreme Court and the Legislature by December 31, 1995.

**DATED:** September  $\mathcal{Q}\mathcal{I}$ , 1995

**BY THE COURT** 

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

SEP 2 2 1995

FILED

. Leith

A. M. Keith Chief Justice